Cancellation

Canceling, archiving and deleting orders

You can cancel, archive, and delete orders. Canceling an order means that you’re stopping an order that’s in process. Archiving an order means that you’re done with the order and want to remove it from your open orders list. Deleting an order means that you are removing it from your admin.

Cancel an order

Canceling an order indicates that you are halting order processing. For example, if a customer requests a cancellation or you suspect the order is fraudulent, then you can cancel the order to help prevent staff or fulfillment services from continuing work on the order. You can also cancel an order if an item was ordered and isn’t available.

Depending on the state of the order when you cancel it, you might need to do follow-up actions.

State of the orderFollow-up actions
Paid for but no items are fulfilledWhen you cancel the order, there are two refund options:Refund the full amount: If selected, then a full refund is automatically issued. This option is selected by default.Refund later: If selected, then no refund is automatically issued. You can’t issue a partial refund during the cancellation process, so select this option if you want to issue a partial refund after you cancel the order or if you want to investigate before issuing a refund. To avoid chargebacks, ensure that you track non-refunded orders for follow-up.If you use a third-party fulfillment service, then you might need to follow up.
Fulfilled but payment isn’t collectedCanceling an order prevents you from collecting payment. To get items returned, use the returns process.
Not paid and not fulfilledArchive the order if it isn’t automatically archived.

Shopping Cart (0)

Cart